Silverware for U18 Hurlers 2021-09-09 23:15:00


Inniscarra Fe-18 hurlers had a well deserved victory over Bishopstown in the Rebel Og Mid Fe-18 Div 1 Hurling League Final at Ballinora last Sunday morning. A greasy ball mitigated against good hurling but Inniscarra stuck to the task and emerged victorious. Against a slight wind in the first half Inniscarra first score came from captain Scott McElroy after good build up play by Peter Dunne and Brian Lowney. Conrad Desmond scored Inniscarra second point after a well directed pass from Mark Linehan. Bishopstown then scored two points followed by a goal before good work by John Cussen and Se O'Donoghue set up Cameron Lynch for a point. A shot on goal by Mark Linehan was deflected for a 65 which Joe Enright pointed. A foul on Conor Sheehan around midfield led to a Joe Enright free which dropped in the square and Cameron Lynch got his hurley to it and flicked it to the net. Cameron scored another point after good work by Luke Keogh and Liam Buckley. 

Half Time INNISCARRA 1 - 5. BISHOPSTOWN 1 - 3.

A good save and clearance by Colm Heelan was picked up by John Cussen and his pass to Conrad Desmond resulted in another point. Brilliant defending by Sean McLoughlin and David Keane averted a dangerous attack by Bishopstown with the resultant free reaching Peter Dunne who combined with John Cussen to set up Cameron Lynch for his second goal. At the second water break Inniscarra led by a single point 2 - 6 to 1 - 8, but were the better team in the last quarter. A foul on Sean Barrett resulted in a Joe Enright pointed free before Jonathan Keane scored a brilliant point after beating three defenders. Good work by Luke Keogh and Brian Lowney set up Ben Maher for a point before a foul on Killian Ryan led to another pointed free from Joe Enright. With time running out Bishopstown tried hard for a goal to rescue the game but came up against a solid back line of Sean McLoughlin , David Keane and Luke Keogh. 

Final Score INNISCARRA 2 - 10. BISHOPSTOWN 1 - 10.

Scorers, Cameron Lynch 2 - 2, Joe Enright 0 - 3. Conrad Desmond 0 - 2, Scott McElroy 0 -1, Jonathan Keane 0 -1, Ben Maher 0 - 1.

Team, Colm Heelan, Sean McLoughlin, David Keane, Luke Keogh, Conor Sheehan, Joe Enright, Liam Buckley, Peter Dunne, Se O'Donoghue, John Cussen, Cameron Lynch, Mark Linehan, Scott McElroy, Conrad Desmond, Brian Lowney, 

subs, Jonathan Keane for Peter, Sean Barrett for Scott, Ben Maher for Conor, Killian Ryan for Conrad, Charlie Harkin, Michael Dineen, Harry Church, Aaron O'Donovan.

After the match Rebel Og rep Michael Lordan presented the cup to winning captain Scott McElroy who thanked his teammates and mentors Eoin O'Keeffe, Jerry Linehan, Daire Holland, Daniel O'Connell and Alan Sheehan, and also the many Inniscarra supporters present

Back to top