Fe14 League Final 2020-10-10 10:17:00

Inniscarra had a comprehensive victory over Kilmurry at Ovens on Thursday evening in the Rebel Og Mid Fe-14 Football League Final.  Inniscarra were the superior team but struggled to convert their superiority into scores until mid way into the second half when they found their rhythm.    Inniscarra started well but conceded the first point to a Kilmurry free and then a good ball by Darragh O'Brien found Conor O'Sullivan for Inniscarras opening score.  Strong defence by captain Trevor O'Reilly got the ball to Aogan Quinlivan and his long clearance found Sean Linehan who picked out Ben O'Connell for his first point and this was followed by  excellent defending by David Linehan who got the ball to Jonathan Pigott and his long clearance found Daniel O'Connor who ran at the defence and stroked the ball over the bar.   Inniscarra then conceded four points without reply before a good save by Alex Neilon but the referee blew for a penalty which was converted.  At the first water break the score was   Inniscarra  0  -  3,  Kilmurry  1  -  5.     The next attack resulted in a Ben O'Connell pass to Aogan Quinlivan who pointed followed by a flowing movement started by Colman Aherne to Cormac Dineen whose pin point pass to Ryan Murphy resulted in another point.  Kilmurry then pointed a free before excellent defending by Ronan O'Keeffe got the ball to Niall Buckley who picked out Jonathan Pigott and he was through on goal but was fouled and Daniel O'Connor pointed the free.  A lovely move involving Darragh O'Brien,  Niall Buckley and Sean Linehan  resulted in another Daniel O'Connor pointed free.   Half Time  INNISCARRA  0  -  7,  KILMURRY  1  -  6.  Inniscarra started the second half well with Ryan Murphy passing to Ben O'Connell who scored a very good point. Good defending by David Linehan got the ball to Ronan O'Keeffe and his clever pass found Niall Buckley who was through on goal but the goalkeeper saved for a 45.  Excellent play by Cormac Dineen after a good clearance by Colman Aherne got the ball to Darragh Lyons and his return pass to Cormac resulted in a well taken point to level the scores. At the second water break the scores were level but from then on Inniscarra took over.  Sean Murphy played a beautiful pass to Daniel O'Connor for the lead point and good defending by Trevor O'Reilly got the ball to Ronan O'Keeffe whose pass to Daniel O'Connor resulted in another point.  A good interception by Trevor O'Reilly found Cormac Dineen and his pass to Ben O'Connell was driven over the bar.   Good work by Conor O'Sullivan resulted in a free which Niall Buckley quickly took and picked out Daniel O'Connor and his perfectly weighted pass was caught by Ben O'Connell who finished to the net. Fiachra Wall and Ronan O'Keeffe combined to set up Daniel O'Connor for another point and then Daniel scored another point after good work by Colman Aherne and Jonathan Pigott.  Ben O'Connell then scored another point after being picked out by Niall Buckley and the final score was another Ben O'Connell point after good passing by Darragh Lyons and  Conor O'Sullivan.  Kilmurry had one final fling but Alex Neilon saved under the bar and the final whistle sounded which meant Kilmurry failed to score in the second half.  Final Score,  INNISCARRA  1  -  16,  KILMURRY  1  -  6.    Scorers,  Daniel O'Connor  0  -  7,  Ben O'Connell  1  -  5,  Ryan Murphy  0  -  1,  Conor O'Sullivan  0  -  1,  Aogan Quinlivan  0  -  1,  Cormac Dineen  0  -  1.   Team,  Alex Neilon,  Colman Aherne,  Trevor  O'Reilly,  David Linehan,  Jonathan Pigott,  Ronan O'Keeffe,  Aogan Quinlivan,  Cormac Dineen,  Niall Buckley,  Darragh O'Brien,  Daniel O'Connor,  Conor O'Sullivan,  Ben O'Connell,  Sean Linehan,  Ryan Murphy,  subs,  Darragh Lyons for Ryan,  Sean Murphy for Sean,  Fiachra Wall for Aogan,  Ross Foley(inj)  Conor Earle(inj).  After the game Rebel Og rep Michael Lordan presented the cup to joint captains Trevor O'Reilly and Ross Foley who thanked the supporters, parents and mentors  John O'Keefee,  Martin Murphy, Kevin Buckley, Mona O'Brien, John Lynch, Tony Foley, Kevin Keohane and Ger Dineen.

Back to top