FE 13 HURLERS WIN P1 HURLING LEAGUE. 2019-10-08 21:58:00

INNISCARRA  2  -  16,    BALLINCOLLIG  5  -  5 (AET).

  At Ballyanly on Saturday evening, after a tremendous game of hurling, Inniscarra were crowned P1 Fe13 Hurling League Champions after extra time  when they defeated Ballincollig by  2  -  16 to  5  -  5.  Inniscarra were the better team but the previously undefeated Ballincollig scored goals just before half time and full time to keep them in the game. Daniel O'Connor got the first score of the match when he picked up a good clearance by Trevor O'Reilly and put the ball over the bar and then good work by Colman Aherne and Sean Murphy set up Cormac Dineen for a well taken point. A superb catch and delivery by the outstanding Niall Buckley was picked up by Ryan Murphy and he in turn picked out Ronan O'Keeffe who scored Inniscarra third point. A goal for Ballincollig squared the match but Inniscarra again took the lead when Daniel O'Connor got his second point after good work by Sean Linehan and Darragh O'Brien. A shot on goal by Ryan Murphy was deflected out for a 65 and Niall Buckley duly converted the 65. Ballincollig finished the half scoring a goal and point to leave the half time score  INNISCARRA  0  -  5,  BALLINCOLLIG  2  -  1.

  Inniscarra kept the scoreboard ticking over in the second half with a pointed free by Niall Buckley after a good interception by Trevor O'Reilly was played upfield by Colman Aherne to Daniel Murphy who was fouled. A foul on Alex Neilon then resulted in a pointed free by Darragh O'Brien and then Darragh scored a brilliant goal after picking up a good clearance by David Linehan and he followed with another point after good work by Ben O'Connell and Cormac Dineen. Alex Neilon then scored a lovely point after David Linehan found Ronan Keeffe who supplied a lovely pass to Alex and this was followed by a point by Ronan O'Keeffe after a pass from Colman Aherne. Aogan Quinlivan then worked a good ball to Michael Lyons and though surrounded by three backs he succeeded in putting the ball over the bar. Two brilliant saves by Ben Gleeson meant Inniscarra now led by five points with only minutes left but Ballincollig somehow got two goals either side of a Niall Buckley pointed free from far out to leave the sides level  Inniscarra  1  -  12 , Ballincollig  4  -  3, at the end of normal time.

  Extra time started well for Inniscarra with Darragh O'Brien setting up Daniel O'Connor for a goal followed by a point by Niall Buckley and some brilliant defending by Conor Earle and Conor O'Sullivan kept Ballincollig to just one point in the first period of extra time. Good work by Darragh Lyons got the ball to Michael Lyons who was fouled and Niall Buckley pointed the free. Another good save by Ben Gleeson was cleared upfield by Conor O'Sullivan to Colman Aherne who picked out Ronan O'Keeffe who was fouled and Darragh O'Brien pointed the free.  Half time extra time  Inniscarra  2  -  15,  Ballincollig  4  -  4.

  The second period of extra time saw some brilliant defending by Trevor O'Reilly and Conor Earle in particular but Ballincollig scored a goal and point to reduce the gap to a single point. However Inniscarra were not for giving in and a foul on Daniel O'Connor resulted in Darragh O'Brien pointing the free to leave the final score  INNISCARRA  2  -  16,  BALLINCOLLIG  5  -  5.

  After the game Rebel Og's Michael O'Mahony presented the cup to Inniscarra captain Cormac Dineen who thanked the supporters and mentors  Martin Murphy, Kevin Buckley, James Gleeson, John Lynch, Kevin Keohane, Mona O'Brien, John O'Keeffe and Tony Foley.

  Inniscarra scorers,  Darragh O'Brien  1  -  4,  Daniel O'Connor  1  -  2, Niall Buckley  0  -  5,  Ronan O'Keeffe  0  -  2,  Cormac Dineen  0  -  1,  Alex Neilon  0  -  1,  Michael Lyons  0  -  1.

Team,   Ben Gleeson,  Conor O'Sullivan,  Trevor O'Reilly,  Conor Earle,  David Linehan,  Niall Buckley, Sean Linehan,  Cormac Dineen,  Colman Aherne,  Sean Murphy, Ronan O'Keeffe,  Daniel O'Connor,  Ryan Murphy,  Darragh O'Brien,  Alex Neilon,  subs, Ben O'Connell for Sean Murphy,  Michael Lyons for Sean Linehan,  Aogan Quinlivan for Ryan Murphy,  Darragh Lyons for David Linehan,  Robert Dooling,  Jonathan Pigott.

Back to top