Feile 2019 - Well done to our U14s who won the Division 2 Shield 2019-06-11 19:13:00

After 6 games on  Friday, Saturday and Sunday Inniscarra were crowned Division 2 Feile (Fe 14 Hurling) Boys Shield champions with Brendan O'Brien presenting the shield to captain Tadgh Lyons after a well deserved victory over Bride Rovers in the final in Bishopstown on Sunday afternoon in front of a very large group of Inniscarra supporters.

The hectic weekend began in Ballincollig on Friday evening with our first opponents Co.Clare champions St Josephs Doora Barefield. While our opponents were stronger we put up a good performance but trailed by 1 - 5 to 1 point at half time having missed some scorable chances. Inniscarra's point was scored by Tom Coughlan after good defensive work by Calum Larkin and Ciaran Gould.  A better performance in the second half saw Inniscarra score two goals, the first by Michael Murphy after good defending by Adam Doyle and a slick pass from Luke Walsh, the second by Ross O'Donovan after combined work by Dylan Costelloe and Jack Desmond. Final score Doora Barefield  2  -  8, Inniscarra  2  -  2.  Scorers, Ross O'Donovan 1 - 0, Michael Murphy 1 - 0, Tom Coughlan 0 - 1.

Next game on Friday was against neighbours Ballincollig and again some poor shooting cost us scores. Inniscarra trailed 1  -  3 to 1 goal at half time, the goal scored by Sean Connolly after good work by Donal Dineen and Sean Linehan. After conceding a goal and point at the start of the second half Inniscarra were in control for the rest of the match but came up short on the scoreboard. A lovely move started by a good save by goalkeeper Niall Buckley was cleared upfield by Liam Leisk to Adam Doyle who found Daniel Murphy and his pass reached Luke Walsh who scored a lovely point. Good work by Con O'Mahony resulted in a free which Conor Geoghegan pointed and he followed with another pointed free after a foul on Daniel O'Connor. Tom Coughlan then went on a long solo run and he blasted a shot on goal but it was turned around the post for a 65 which Conor Geoghegan pointed. Final Score Inniscarra  1  -  4, Ballincollig  2  -  5. Scorers,  Sean Connolly  1  -   0, Conor Geoghegan  0  - 3, Luke Walsh  0  -  1.

First match on Saturday morning was against our visitors for County Down - Ballygalget in Ballyanly. Again we were slow to get into the game and trailed by 3 points to 2 points at half time. A lovely pass from Joe Hayes set up Tom Coughlan for the first point and the second was a free by Conor Geoghegan after a foul on Liam Leisk. A  much improved performance in the second half saw us score two goals and three points. A good block down by Odhran Lynch led to a line ball which reached Jack Desmond who was fouled and Tom Coughlan sent the free into the square and a neat touch by Ross O'Donovan deflected the ball into the net..A free out by Calum Larkin was sent upfield to Niall Buckley who passed to Sean Connolly and he scored a point. This was followed by a pointed free by Micheal Murphy after a foul on Daniel O'Connor. Tom Coughlan then caught the opposition puck out and sent the ball straight to Ross O'Donovan and he scored his second goal of the match. A foul on Daniel O'Connor led to another free which Michael Murphy converted.  Final Score , Inniscarra  2  -  5,  Ballygalget  1  -  4.  Scorers, Ross O'Donovan  2  -  0, Michael Murphy  0  -  2, Tom Coughlan  0  -  1, Sean Connolly  0  -  1,  Conor Geoghegan  0  -  1.

 These combined results meant we were into the shield quarter final and the opposition were Na Piarsaigh from Co.Westmeath which took place in Nemo Rangers pitch. In a game affected by a strong wind Inniscarra emerged victorious on a scoreline  3  -  6 to  1  -  4, the goalscorers being Michael Murphy, Tom Coughlan and Daragh O'Brien.

The semi final and final were played in Bishopstown on Sunday. First up in the semi final were Youghal who scored an early goal but then a lovely move involving Ciaran Desmond to Sean Connolly to Luke Walsh resulting in a foul on Michael Murphy with Conor Geoghegan converting the free. Another long solo run by Tom Coughlan after a pass from Liam Leisk resulted in another point. Conor Geoghegan converted a free after a foul on Adam Doyle and this was followed by a lovely point by Odhran Lynch .A foul on Donal Dineen resulted in another Conor Geoghegan point and a great interception by Tadgh O'Keeffe meant Inniscarra led at half time by  0  - 5  to 1  -  3.

Inniscarra played very well in the second half with a quick point by Daniel Murphy after good work by Ciaran Desmond followed by a point by Tom Coughlan after a long clearance by Tadgh O'Keeffe. A pointed free by Conor Geoghegan was followed by a goal from Tom Coughlan after good work by Daragh O'Brien. Brilliant defending by Tadgh Lyons got the ball to Daragh O'Brien and his pass was picked up by  Conor Geoghegan who scored another point.  Final Score  Inniscarra  1  -  9,  Youghal  1  -  5.  Scorers, Conor Geoghegan  0  -  5, Tom Coughlan  1  -  2, Odhran Lynch  0  - 1, Daniel Murphy  0  -  1.

Inniscarra were now through to the final against Bride Rovers and with a huge improvement in the quality of hurling over the week end hopes were high of claiming victory and the squad certainly didnt disappoint. Inniscarra played against the wind in the first half and with the backs in complete control led by 1 goal to 1 point at half time, the goal scored by Michael Murphy late in the half after good defending by  Ciaran Desmond and Luke Walsh.  The second half was a very solid performance with Tadgh O'Keeffe and Tadgh Lyons in complete control in the centre of defence - Tadgh O'Keeffe on many occasions breaking up attacks and clearing upfield. A goal by Daniel Murphy after good work by Calum Larkin and Ciaran Desmond got the scoreboard ticking and this was followed by a point from Michael Murphy. Good work by Daragh O'Brien and Ciaran Gould led to the ball reaching Daniel O'Connor who was fouled and Conor Geoghegan pointed the free from long range. Then a lovely point by Sean Connolly after good work by Donal Dineen was followed by a pointed free by  Conor Geoghegan after a foul on Dylan Costelloe and the final score was a beauty of a point by Joe Hayes to leave the final score Inniscarra  2  -  5  ,Bride Rovers  0  -  1,  Scorers  Michael Murphy  1  -  1,  Conor Geoghegan  0  -  2,  Sean Connolly  0  -  1, Daniel Murphy  1  -  0, Joe Hayes  0  -  1.

So after 6 games of 30 minutes a game scoring  11 goals and 30 points  and conceding  7 goals and 27 points Inniscarra were worthy John West Feile Na nGael Division 2 Shield Champions.

Panel,  Niall Buckley, Calum Larkin, Liam Leisk, Ciaran Gould, Tadgh O'Keeffe, Tadgh Lyons, Ciaran Desmond, Tom Coughlan,Luke Walsh, Conor Geoghegan, Michael Murphy, Adam Doyle, Joe Hayes, Ross O'Donovan,  Daniel Murphy,  Sean Connolly,  Donal Dineen, Con O'Mahony, Jack Desmond, Daragh O'Brien, Sean Linehan, Odhran Lynch, Dylan Costelloe, Daniel O'Connor,  Luke Kenneally,  Owen O'Sullivan,  Jack O'Callaghan.

Mentors, Daire Holland, Pat Larkin, Kevin O'Keeffe, Brian Hayes,  Denis Lynch

Powered by Froala Editor

Powered by Froala Editor

Powered by Froala Editor

Back to top