P2 FE 15 HURLING LEAGUE INNISCARRA 4 - 9, St COLMANS 3 - 13 2017-06-30 11:54:00



After a magnificent game of hurling at Ballyanly on Tuesday evening, Inniscarra were just one point short against a very strong St Colman’s side (amalgamation of Cloyne and Russell Rovers). Having led by 1 - 5 to 0 - 6 at half time, within five minutes of the start of the second half the visitors had scored three goals in quick succession. The outcome looked bleak for Inniscarra but with some magnificent performances from Colin O'Leary and Se Dineen at midfield, Sean Leisk and Stephen Linehan in attack and Sean Quinlivan at full back Inniscarra came within one point of a result but time ran out.  After the throw in, St Colmans registered five points to one for Inniscarra - a pointed free by Oisin Morris. Oisin followed with another pointed free before Sean Leisk converted a long range point from a free after a foul on John Gould.  Inniscarra then hit a purple patch and a magnificent ball from defence by Aidan O'Reilly was sent across the goal by Oisin Morris for Sean Leisk to score a well deserved goal.  Good work by Colin O'Leary and Sean Aherne led to Josh Roberts scoring a beautiful point and then a foul on Brian Dinan resulted in another pointed free by Sean Leisk.

After a slow start to the second half some very good defending by Eoin Barrett and James Doyle led to two frees, with Sean Leisk converting both. A long clearance by goalkeeper Tom O'Sullivan was well worked upfield by Liam O'Connor to Sean Gould and his pass to Colin O'Leary resulted in a well taken goal.  Good work by Se Dineen and Brian Dinan led to a goal by Oisin Morris and then Sean Lynch finished to the net for another goal after good work by Eoin Barrett and Sean Aherne.  Good defending by James Doyle resulted in the ball reaching Colin O'Leary who fed Josh Roberts for another very good point with the final score for Inniscarra coming for a foul on Stephen Linehan with Oisin Morris converting the free.

Final Score INNISCARRA 4 - 9, St Colmans 3 - 13.

Scorers, Sean Leisk 1 - 4, Oisin Morris 1 - 3, Josh Roberts 0 - 2, Colin O'Leary 1 - 0, Sean Lynch 1 - 0.

Team, Tom O'Sullivan, Eoin Barrett, Sean Quinlivan, James Doyle, Sean Aherne, Liam O'Connor, Aidan O'Reilly, Se Dineen, Colin O'Leary, Josh Roberts, Sean Leisk, Oisin Morris, John Gould, Stephen Linehan, Brian Dinan, Sean Lynch.

Back to top