Disappointment For Fe 14 Hurlers 2016-06-16 11:48:00

Disappointment For Fe 14 Hurlers, Cuchullans 2 - 12, Inniscarra 1 - 7.


In the Carrigaline Court Hotel Fe14 Premier 2A County Hurling Championship Final played in Banteer last Friday evening Inniscarra came up short against a strong Cuchullans side made up of players from Kanturk and Lismire. After a poor start when they fell behind by  1 - 3 to no score after 10 minutes  Inniscarra settled and two well taken long range points by Stephen Linehan and Sean McCarthy settled the nerves and from then to the end it was a very even contest. Another point from Sean McCarthy after a good run by Sean Aherne and a pointed free by Oisin Morris left seven points between the sides approaching half time but then Cuchullans got a fortituous goal when Evin Cunningham in goal made a first class save but from the rebound the ball was bundled into the net to leave the score at half time CUCHULLANS  2 - 8, INNISCARRA 0 - 4.

Inniscarra were very determined in the second half and strong play from Sean Leisk and John Gould led to a free converted by Oisin Morris. James Flannery now operating very effectively at corner forward was fouled and Oisin converted the free.A long clearance by Tom O'Sullivan to Josh Ambrose found Jack Walsh who was fouled and Oisin duly obliged with the resultant free. With Liam O'Connor and Shea Dineen playing outstanding in the half back line an Colin O'Leary a driving force at mid field Inniscarra were now on top and good play by Eoghan Barrett found Stephen Linehan who set up Oisin Morris for a well taken goal. However time ran out and the game finished Cuchullans  2 - 12, Inniscarra  1 - 7.

Considering Inniscarra were short five of the starting fifteen in the semi-final victory over Cobh this was a very creditable performance with all replacements performing particularly well so the future looks promising for this group of players.  Many thanks for their efforts to mentors Eugene O'Sullivan, Ricky Leisk, John Lynch and Conor O'Leary.

Inniscarra Scorers, Oisin Morris  1 - 4, Sean McCarthy 0 - 2, Stephen Linehan  0 - 1.

Team ,  Evin Cunningham,  Tom O'Sullivan,  Sean Leisk,  James Flannery,  Josh Ambrose,  Liam O'Connor,  Shay Dineen,  Colin O'Leary,  Sean Aherne,  Oisin Morris,  John Gould,  Jack Walsh,  Eoghan Barrett,  Sean McCarthy,  Stephen Linehan,  Subs Aidan O'Reilly for Sean Aherne,  Sean Lynch for Eoghan Barrett,  Colm Heelan, Ethan Piggot,  James Doyle,  Brian Dinan,  Oisin O'Brien,  John Buckley, Sean Quinlivan,  Josh Roberts, Neil Vaughan.

Back to top