Silverware For Minor Footballers 2018-10-12 21:29:00

Silverware For Minor Footballers. INNISCARRA 3 - 7, KILMURRY 0 - 11.

Inniscarra defeated Kilmurry in the Rebel Og East Fe18 A Football Championship final at

Bishopstown on Saturday evening. Inniscarra were first to score with a point from Eddie O'Connor after good build up play by Liam Ryan and Jamie O'Sullivan. A good move involving Evan Kelly and Robert Cahill found Fergal O'Leary who was through on goal but his shot came back off the crossbar. Owen McCarthy scored a point after a slick pass from David Kiely before Sean Sheehan and Robert Cahill combined to set up David Kiely for a well taken goal and David followed with a point after good work by Fergal O'Leary. Half time score INNISCARRA 1 - 3, KILMURRY 0 - 5.

The second half started at a frantic pace with Sean Sheehan scoring an excellent goal after good work by Liam Ryan and Colin O'Leary. and Liam Ryan scored a point himself straight after. Padraig Holland then pointed Inniscarra's first scorable free to leave Inniscarra leading by 5 points but then Kilmurry scored 4 points in succession to leave the minimum between the sides. Good work by Liam O'Connor and Dylan Church set up Eddie O'Connor for a point before the deciding score came via a good clearance by Darragh Hughes to Con O'Leary reached Frankie Horgan and he ran at the defence and sent a rocket of a shot to the back of the net. Padraig Holland pointed another free after a foul on Liam Ryan and had another shot on target from play but it came back off the crossbar. The last five minutes required some resolute defending with the full back line of Jack O'Sullivan, David Kelly and Darragh Hughes completely dominant and one goal line save by keeper John Gould kept the Inniscarra goal intact. Final Score INNISCARRA 3 - 7, KILMURRY 0 - 11.

After the game Inniscarra captain Frankie Horgan accepted the cup on behalf of his team-mates and thanked all the supporters and mentors Paddy O'Donoghue, Liam Collins, Sean O'Donoghue, Adam O'Connell and Eoin O'Keeffe. Inniscarra now advance to the county section.

Scorers, David Kiely 1 - 1, Eddie O'Connor 0 - 2, Padraig Holland 0 - 2, Sean Sheehan 1 - 0, Frankie Horgan 1 - 0, Liam Ryan 0 - 1, Owen McCarthy 0 - 1.

Team, John Gould, Jack O'Sullivan, David Kelly, Darragh Hughes, Evan Kelly, Jamie O'Sullivan, Frankie Horgan, Eddie O'Connor, Sean Sheehan, Liam Ryan, Robert Cahill, Fergal O'Leary, Padraig Holland, David Kiely, Owen McCarthy, subs, Colin O'Leary for Fergal O'Leary, Con O'Leary for Evan Kelly, Liam O'Connor for David Kiely, Dylan Church for Robert Cahill, Sean Leisk for Owen McCarthy, Brian Linehan, Eoin O'Herlihy, Eric O'Callaghan, Mark Buckley, Mark McLoughlin, Ronan Twomey, Sean McCarthy, Stephen Linehan, Graeme Kelly.

Back to top